World Cup: When are countries naming their 26-man squads?

The 2022 World Cup kicks off in less than two weeks, with hosts Qatar playing Ecuador on Sunday, November 20.

Managers must name their squads before the start of the tournament and time is running out – tournament organizers FIFA have given the 32 participating teams until Monday 14 November to submit their final selections. It’s only six days before the start of the tournament.

World Cups usually have squads of 23 players, but like the revamped European Championship in 2020, coaches will be allowed to name 26 players.

What if players get injured?

At this World Cup – played in the middle of European domestic seasons due to hot considerations in Qatar in the summer – there is a gap of just a week between players releasing their clubs and taking part in the opening group game. This is a significantly smaller difference than for previous tournaments, which are usually held after a break of around three weeks.

As a consequence, FIFA has decided that teams can substitute players who are unavailable due to COVID-19 or injury up to 24 hours before their first match.

Which teams have already named their squads?

Two teams couldn’t wait to announce their lineups.

The first of them was Japan, whose head coach Hajime Moriasu named his 26-man squad on November 1. It included Arsenal’s Takehiro Tomiyasu and Brighton’s Kaoru Mitoma, but absent Celtic duo Kyogo Furuhashi or Reo Hatate.

Also Read :  U.S. men's World Cup roster reflects 'the diversity of America'

There is also room for several national team stalwarts, including ex-Southampton defender Maya Yoshida and ex-Inter defender Yuto Nagatomo, who have 258 caps for their country between them.

Costa Rica named their squad on November 3, led by Paris Saint-Germain goalkeeper Keylor Navas. It also includes former Premier League players Brian Oviedo, Brian Ruiz and Joel Campbell. All four were members of the 2014 squad that reached the quarter-finals in Brazil, only to lose to the Netherlands on penalties.

Brazil coach Tite, who will step down after the tournament, named his squad on November 7. Neymar’s side included Arsenal pair Gabriel Jesus and Gabriel Martinelli, plus Tottenham Hotspur’s Richarlison, but Liverpool’s Roberto Firmino missed out.

Denmark confirmed 21 of their 26 players on the same day, with Christian Eriksen returning to major tournaments just 18 months after his heart attack.

When will the other teams name their squads?

The busy – and, for the players, anxious – week continues.

Australia’s squad to be revealed on November 8 – 16 of their players released a public statement criticizing Qatar’s human rights record last week.

World Cup squad announcement dates

Also Read :  Cristiano Ronaldo begins World Cup campaign with Portugal after Manchester United departure
Tim Date of publication


Monday November 7th


Monday 7 November (7pm GMT)


Tuesday November 8


Wednesday 9 November (10am GMT)


Wednesday 9 November (7pm GMT)


Wednesday November 9


Wednesday November 9

United States

Wednesday 9 November (10pm GMT)


Thursday 10 November (2pm GMT)


Thursday 10 November (16:30 GMT)


Thursday 10 November


Thursday 10 November


Thursday 10 November


Friday November 11


Friday November 11

South Korea

Saturday November 12


Monday November 14

Wednesday and Thursday are the big days for the World Cup reveals. Wales, Croatia, France, Switzerland and the United States will name their squads on Wednesday – with Wales playing in their first World Cup since 1958 and the USA expected to select the competition’s youngest team. Reigning champions France have a few injury problems, confirmed by starting midfielders N’Golo Kante and Paul Pogba, with Wesley Fofana, Mike Meignan, Raphael Varane, Gilles Cunde and Boubacar Kamara doubtful.

The England squad will be announced at 14:00GMT on Thursday – Ben Chilwell, Emile Smith Rowe and Kyle Walker-Peters are the only players who will definitely miss the tournament, while Rhys James, Kyle Walker and Calvin Phillips struggled with their fitness. . Gareth Southgate’s main decisions include whether to select in-form midfielder James Maddison and which striker will back up captain Harry Kane.

Also Read :  COP27 delivers climate fund breakthrough at cost of progress on emissions

Portugal, Germany, Belgium and Poland will also name their squads on Thursday. This is the first World Cup since 2006 that the Germans will not be led by Joachim Low – they now have former Bayern Munich manager Hansi Flick. Cristiano Ronaldo’s selection for a joint record fifth World Cup will also be confirmed.

The Netherlands – who failed to qualify in 2018 – will name their squad on Friday, November 11, along with Spain.

Son Heung-min’s fitness will be confirmed the day after, on Saturday, when South Korea name their squad. The Tottenham striker suffered a fracture around his left eye during Wednesday’s 2-1 Champions League win over Marseille.

go deeper


How serious is Son Heung-min’s eye fracture?

Finally, Argentina coach Lionel Scaloni will announce his squad on Monday, November 14, by the deadline. The main questions are who will partner Lionel Messi, who is also playing in his fifth World Cup, in attack. Roma striker Paulo Dybala is an injury doubt, while Angel Di Maria is also struggling for fitness. Lautaro Martinez, Angel Correa, Joaquin Correa and Julián Alvarez were included in the provisional squad, along with Atlanta United youngster Thiago Almada.

(Top photo: Getty Images)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button